PETE SEAWARD

PETE SEAWARD 

LOCATION PHOTOGRAPHER

I am looking at a practitioner for my location photography and this will be done each week so every week I will be looking at a practitioner and my chosen practitioner this week is Pete Seaward. The reason for choosing Pete seaward is because of the way he uses his images to have a meaning. This means he does not just go out and take the images he takes he goes out with either a client in mind for a project he has been set or for himself but working on a theme or genre that he has in mind and he sticks to that. Some of the images he takes are for a magazine or advert of some kind and this helps him to win awards such as Luerzer’s achives 200 best ad photographer in the world and travel photographer of the year 2011 by the British travel press. When you look at his work he sees different angles on things and uses them to create the images. If he is looking at a building or a bridge or taking a picture of a person he doesn’t just take them he find different ways of taking them and with the bridges and buildings he picks out the detail within them where as some people just take one of the bridge or building with no thought behind it which he has. Looking at his work has helped my location photography when I went out to The Edge in Alderly Edge. The reason for this is because when I got there I remembered the way that Pete Seaward got detailed shots of what he was photographing and for some of the shots this is what I looked for. With my photos of Alderly Edge I tried to make some of the images look touristy and make people want to visit and this was inspired from Pete Seawards tourist images and this helped me a lot to give me an idea of what I was doing at Alderly Edge.

Leave a comment